top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCourtney Deamer

My bestie.

Having a true best friend for life, is a rarity that not everyone is lucky enough to experience.


I was lucky enough to find my best friend at the tender age of four. Basically, I don't remember life without her. She's the sister the universe gave me and because of each other, we both gained a whole extra family.


The best thing about having a best friend like mine, is that no matter what happens, she's going to be there. Even when I'm dumb, even when I'm wrong, she'll be standing by my side.


No, not everyone can say the same. I trust my best friend one thousand percent. She'd never betray me and she'd cut anyone that did. And I know this because I'd do the same for her.


I know my secrets will always be safe with her and that your secrets will be safe with the both of us. If you tell her, she's going to tell me but only because she knows without a doubt in her mind that it's never going to go any further than that.


If you were to hurt my best friend, she might not hate you, she would probably forgive it and forget it. But I won't, there will be no forgiving or forgetting here. I will remember every little thing you do and say to her and I'm going to be watching her back for her until the end of time.


When we were younger, we were the perfect balance of outgoing and shy. We've grown now, but sometimes we still need each other for that balance of wild verse grounded. Someone to tell you when you're being a little dramatic.


A best friend just knows when you need her. She'll be there and sit by your side in silence, if that's what you need. It's the sixth sense we have for one another. An evolutionary trait formed over all of the years that have gone by.


She doesn't judge me, not when I'm being petty or when I'm in a funk for no reason at all or even when I'm obnoxiously drunk and being annoying. She loves me just as I am and always tells me she's proud.


Don't get me wrong we've had up's and downs and periods of time apart, but nothing has been so big that we couldn't overcome the issue and be so relieved to still have each other. It's a loyalty like no other.


We don't have to talk every single day, we don't take pictures every time we hang out and we don't have to have a reason or plans to stop by.


When I'm with my best friend, everything is just better. She's picked me up off the floor, she's pulled me down from tables and she's sat me down when I've needed it.


A true best friend is forgiving in ways that no one else understands. Unafraid to tell you the unfiltered truth and also understanding when presented with an unfiltered and even ugly truth.


We have been each other's rock with all the hard times, right through school, for the loss of family members, broken hearts, relationship breakdowns, family divorce and everything in between. We've been each other's greatest supporters when reaching our achievements, no matter how big or small. We're there for the fun stuff, the silly stuff and everything is just better when she's there.


We have a banter and pay each other out. But we also don't ever let anyone else talk smack about the other.


The endless memories that we share, we drive people crazy by recalling the eye watering moments of the past twenty five years.


I have more faith in my best friend than most could even imagine having in a friend. I'm so lucky to have found her. Together we have grown, we have learned just how important of a role we have for each other.


She's my person. There's no one better.


Two and a half decades strong and I know my best friend will still be my best friend in the decades to come. I wish that everyone could find a best friend just like mine.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page