top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCourtney Deamer

I have no idea why I am this way

It's the same old story, that goes on and on.

Can't see how good it is, until it's already gone.


What is it about my nature that says; need not to respect me at all.

Yet, for every single one, I still fall.


Empty words and zero action.

Will still have me chasing, right up until I catch on.


I have no idea why I am this way.

No idea what it takes to just stay.


Stupid girl, don't you remember all the hurt.

Back inside my shell again, I will revert.


Don't forget to always remember your place.

You're the girl that takes up too much space.


It's the same old story again and again.

I just have remember where it all began.


So young but so incredibly small.

I could never just have it all.


They say they want me to hold.

Too soon it always grows old.


Build the walls up higher.

Girl, you've become the fighter.


I have no idea why I am this way.

Never do I have all the right words to say.


Inside the knots get tighter.

And the hope grows lighter.


They always come around too late.

A trait that I have grown to hate.


Back into the shadows again.

Hide out there until I don't know when.


Why can't you see me for all that I can be.

What would it take for anyone to really see me.


Stupid girl, you should have known the hurt.

Back down again, to kiss the dirt.


What is it about not belonging in this skin.

It's been about time, don't I deserve a win.


Feeling so deep on the inside.

Acting so shallow on the outside.


They have no idea why I am this way.

Fleeting emotions, they won't stay.


Be yourself, but not entirely you.

You're too much of you, that's who.


What you're looking for does not exist.

You must hold back, just resist.


Why am I this way.

Just rise and face another day.


It must just be the way I'm built.

Shy away, feel the guilt.


Embrace the shame.

You're only a piece in their game.


Stupid girl, you should have known.

Sleep, comfortably on your own.


Count your losses and just move on.

You can't say goodbye when it's already gone.


I'm more than my body, my face, my hair.

But they're never around long enough to care.


Just know that you're never enough.

Don't bother trying to call their bluff.


In desperate need of a real connection.

Some kind of cosmic resurrection.


I have no right to ask for love.

When they're all so high up above.


There's no reason to believe I'm enough.

I'm just not made up of the right stuff.


I've got no idea why I am this way.

But with my own self, I have to stay.


They've got no idea who I am.

But too well, I know all of them.


They're all the same.

And they're not to blame.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page